Inclusion Criteria

  • Single event traumatic or ischemic para- or tetraplegia
  • First EMSCI assessment possible within the first 6 weeks after incidence
  • Patient capable and willing of giving written informed consent


Exclusion Criteria

  • Nontraumatic para- or tetraplegia (i.e. discusprolaps, tumor, AV-malformation, myelitis) excl. single event ischemic incidences
  • Previously known dementia or severe reduction of intelligence, leading to reduced capabilities of cooperation or giving consent
  • Peripheral nerve lesions above the level of lesion (i.e. plexus brachialis impairment)
  • Previously known polyneuropathy
  • Severe craniocerebral injury